The Maine Ski and Snowboard Museum is back with another visiting exhibit in the Valentine Wing – this time to commemorate 6o years of Mt. Abram! The Greenwood ski hill opened in the winter of 1960-1961 and has been a favorite among families and locals ever since. The 60th anniversary exhibit features photos, trail maps, and memorabilia. The exhibit will open Saturday, December 5th at 1 pm and will be on view through spring 2021 whenever the “Open” flag at Robinson House (10 Broad St.) is out. FMI: 207-824-2908.
Click here to listen to an interview with Lainey and Steve Cross about their family’s early days at Mt. Abram.
On Saturday, December 5th, from 1:00 to 5:00 pm, the Museums of the Bethel Historical Society will open a new exhibit in the Philip and Mary Chadbourne Room at the Robinson House featuring the art of past MBHS president, creator of “The Bethel Journals” website, and Bethel historian par excellence, Donald Gilman Bennett. Featured in this exhibit are paintings in oil, pastel, watercolor, and other media, as well as sketches and photographs from Mr. Bennett’s private collection. Please stop by — with masks on, of course — to enjoy this colorful and uplifting display. This exhibit will be on view through spring 2021 whenever the “Open” flag at Robinson House (10 Broad St.) is out. FMI: 207-824-2908
Open in July and August; Thursday through Saturday, 1:00 to 4:00 PM; other times by appointment
One of the finest Federal style residences in its region, the Dr. Moses Mason House was constructed in 1813 on a spacious lot facing onto the common at Bethel Hill village. According to Dr. Nathaniel Tuckerman True, Bethel’s eminent nineteenth century historian, this house was the first on the common to be painted white, the first on a high foundation of granite slabs, and the first to make use of exterior shutters. The house and grounds were renovated and restored in 1972-73 by the Bingham Trust, which presented the property to the Bethel Historical Society in memory of William Bingham 2nd, the town’s great twentieth century philanthropist.
Nine rooms in the Mason House now appear much as they did during the occupancy of Dr. Moses Mason (1789-1866) and his wife, Agnes M. Straw (1793-1869). These rooms contain a wide variety of eighteenth and nineteenth century examples of the decorative arts, many of which are original to the house. Other furnishings from the Society’s permanent collection are also on display throughout the various rooms. The most captivating feature of the Mason House is located in the front hallway, which contains Rufus Porter School wall murals—on the upper and lower floors—painted during the mid-1830s and attributed to Jonathan D. Poor, a nephew of Rufus Porter. Depicting distant seascapes and colorful landscapes with lush foliage, these intriguing examples of American folk art have been painstakingly cleaned so that modern-day visitors can view them much as they looked during the Masons’ era.
On view through Spring 2021 in the “Western Mountains Gallery,” this colorful exhibit provided by the Ski Museum of Maine traces the roots of alpine and Nordic skiing and ski manufacturing at sites located within or near the borders of Oxford County. Through images, artifacts, and vintage film, the display presents the fascinating story of skiing history in the highlands of western Maine.