The Yankee Ingenuity Museum Trail
July through October, 2015 — Mason House:
During the summer/fall of 2015, visitors to the Museums of the Bethel Historical Society explored the theme of “Yankee Ingenuity” as they toured the Dr. Moses Mason House (1813), one of the finest Federal style house museums in western Maine. The interior contains a wide variety of eighteenth and nineteenth century examples of the decorative arts, plus captivating wall murals painted during the 1830s and attributed to Jonathan D. Poor, nephew of Rufus Porter.
Throughout the building’s nine period rooms, special signs directed the visitor’s attention to notable objects and architectural features (including furnishings designed and built by the Doctor himself) that reflect the resourcefulness, inventiveness and creativity of Maine’s nineteenth century inhabitants. For more about this state-wide project, click here.
Photo: Dr. Moses Mason’s “pictorial bookcase,” constructed in the 1850s as a book storage cabinet and family photograph display stand.